Darwin’s Olivia Rothwell wins silver and bronze at the 2018 Under 18 National Championships


With an average age of 14.4 across the eight States and Territories, some of the nation’s brightest young stars were on display at the Capalaba Bowls Club in Brisbane.
The NT Team put up an admirable performance and claimed 1 silver and 2 bronze medals.

Darwin’s Olivia Rothwell teamed with with Breanna Pegg and Zoe Stewart to win a silver medal at her first Under 18 Championship. A fantastic effort that we are all proud of! Olivia also played a key role in gaining a bronze medal in the girls fours event.

Taking home the Boys’ Overall trophy, Victoria set the pace throughout the event, as Kira Bourke and Jarryd Davies were victorious in both Singles events, with the former defending her crown and the latter also winning the Boys’ Pairs final with partner Tyson Cromie.
Victoria also claimed the youngest medal-winner for the 2018 event, with debutant Amity Bickley (12 years of age) leading the Girls’ Fours to silver.Queensland claimed the Girls’ Overall trophy after medalling in all four discipline finals.Isabella Lawson narrowly went down in the Girls’ Singles final to claim silver and then backed up to partner Hannah Ogden to secure bronze in the Pairs, while Queensland also finished third in the Girls’ Triples, with Kyandra Kelly, Zayah Morgan and Caysee Wilson along with Ogden going on to win the Fours.

Our team had a great week and the kids have performed brilliantly winning many admirers for there bowls, there attitude and there fun with the game – voted the most laid back enjoyable team to play by all

Great Job Crocs

See below for medal placings:

Boys’ Singles:

Gold – Jarryd Davies (VIC)
Silver – Jack East (WA)
Bronze – Toby Peters (NSW)

Boys’ Pairs:

Gold – VIC (Tyson Cromie, Jarryd Davies)
Silver – TAS (Issac Maughan, Joshua Walker-Davis)
Bronze – NT (John Davies, Kaleb Walding)

Boys’ Triples:

Gold – SA (Matthew Freebairnm Fergus Rowntree, Nathan Black)
Silver – QLD (Bradley Flegler, Kane Nelson, Jake Rynne)
Bronze – VIC (Jack Thompson, Ethan Higgins, Cooper Wescombe)

Boys’ Fours:

Gold – NSW (Thomas Holburn, Bailey Meti, Connor Freeman, Heath Walker)
Silver – WA (Aiden McAulliffe, Ashton Hagboom, Cory Day, Marcus Simpson)
Bronze – QLD (Carl Flegler, Bradley Fleger, Kane Nelson, Nick Cahill)

Girls’ Singles:

Gold – VIC (Kira Bourke)
Silver – QLD (Isabella Lawson)
Bronze – SA (Kate Argent-Bowden)

Girls’ Pairs:

Gold – TAS (Lauren Banks, Jorja Maughan)
Silver – SA (Sheridon Bodnar, Grace Moloney)
Bronze – QLD (Hannah Ogden, Isabella Lawson)

Girls’ Triples:

Gold – NSW (Erin Swatridge, Rebekah Lord, Brittany Camp)
Silver – NT/WA (Breanna Pegg, Olivia Rothwell, Zoe Stewart)
Bronze – QLD (Kyandra Kelly, Zayah Morgan, Caysee Wilson)

Girls’ Fours: 

Gold – QLD (Hannah Ogden, Kyandra Kelly, Zayah Morgan, Caysee Wilson)
Silver – VIC (Amity Bickley, Sophie Kurzman, Olivia Cartwright, Lisa Trewarne)

Bronze – NT/WA (Breanna Pegg, Ruby Leggett, Olivia Rothwell, Zoe Stewart)

Overall Boys’ winners – Victoria
Overall Girls’ winners – Queensland
Robert Middleton Overall State Champion team – Victoria